THE OXFORD MARK TWAIN; 29 volume set in original box. Mark Twain, Shelly Fisher Fishkin.
THE OXFORD MARK TWAIN; 29 volume set in original box.

THE OXFORD MARK TWAIN; 29 volume set in original box.

New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. First edition thus. 29 volumes. Facsimiles of the first American editions with introductions by contemporary writers, afterwords by Twain scholars, essays on the illustrations, and a note on the text in each book. Fishkin, who conceived of this massive project, is quoted as having said of the introductions, "I immersed myself in more books by contemporary writers than I had ever read, seeking out resonances and points of connection with Twain. I saw this aspect of the project as creating a new body of commentary on Twain by contemporary writers that would dramatize his continuing impact on literature and the vitality of the ongoing cultural conversation in which his works played and continued to play a central role." (Barbara Schmidt, "A History of and Guide to..." on "twainquotes" website). The authors Fishkin carefully commissioned for the introductions were, respectively, Roy Blount, Jr.; Mordecai Richler; George Plimpton; Lee Smith; E. L. Doctorow; Russell Banks; Judith Martin; Willie Morris; Toni Morrison; Kurt Vonnegut; Anne Bernays; Bobbie Ann Mason; Malcolm Bradbury; Nat Hentoff; Sherley Anne Williams; Justin Kaplan; Walter Mosley; David Henry Bradley, Jr.; Gore Vidal; Cynthia Ozick; Ursula K. Le Guin; Charles R. Johnson; Frederick Matthew Busch; Garry Wills; Arthur Miller; Erica Jong; Frederik Pohl; and Hal Holbrook. The titles of the 29 volumes are The Celebrating Jumping Frog of Calaveras County and Other Sketches (1867); The Innocents Abroad (1869); Roughing It (1872); The Gilded Age (1873); Sketches, New and Old (1875); The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1876); A Tramp Abroad (1880); The Prince and the Pauper (1881); Life on the Mississippi (1883); Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1885); A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court (1889); Merry Tales (1892); The American Claimant (1892); The £1,000,000 Bank Note and Other New Stories (1893); Tom Sawyer Abroad (1894); The Tragedy of Pudd'nhead Wilson and the Comedy Those Extraordinary Twins (1894); Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc (1896); The Stolen White Elephant and Other Detective Stories (1882, 1896, 1902); How to Tell a Story and Other Essays (1897); Following the Equator and Anti-imperialist Essays (1897, 1901, 1905); The Man that Corrupted Hadleyburg and Other Stories and Essays (1900); The Diaries of Adam and Eve (1904, 1906); What is Man (1906); The $30,000 Bequest and other Stories (1906); Christian Science (1907); Chapters from My Autobiography (1906-1907); 1601, and Is Shakespeare Dead? (1882, 1909); Extract from Captain Stormfield's Visit to Heaven (1909); Speeches (1910). The box is good and solid but showing expected use and missing some text on one side where shipping tape was torn off. The books are all fine in fine dust jackets.
Item #56095

Price: $725.00

See all items by ,